Talk is Cheap

Talk is indeed cheap. That’s why I like it. It costs me nothing and provides fodder upon which to build/comment/rally against.

As Liverpool feels the pressure grow after recent lackluster performances, more of their own are stepping out of the shadows to make their voices heard. The latest is former Red fullback, Alan Kennedy.

The European Cup winner on Rafa, the squad and the title:

I think they’re there, I really do, but they have to go out to win every game. They have really got to go out there and aim to beat the team in front of them, whether it be in the Champions League or the Carling Cup.

If Rafa wants to rotate and he feels he can get the best out of his players that way, I can’t argue with that. What I can say is that results at the end of the season will determine whether he’s doing the right thing.

He’s already left Torres out on a couple of occasions. If he feels the team can do without Torres, then all well and good. But I think we’ve seen how good Torres is, and if you ask the fans, the majority will say Torres is the number one striker.

I don’t think Liverpool would get rid of him but by the end of next season, Rafa would have been there five years. I wouldn’t say it’s now or never but in the next couple of seasons they have got to win the Premier League. Rafa strengthened in the areas we needed strengthening and he’s built a squad that’s based on ability. It’s as good a squad as we’ve ever had and it’s one that’s good enough to win the Premier League.

He’s made big strides, he really has, and people might say he’s spent money, but Sir Alex Ferguson has done that as well and so have other clubs like Tottenham.

I think it’s much too early to be talking about Rafa’s job security as a FA Cup and European Cup buy him some well-deserved time, but the point about winning the league is valid enough. I think it’s more than fair to expect a league trophy in the next two seasons.

But, Alan… “other clubs like Tottenham”?

You have seen the league table lately, haven’t you?

On a lighter note, Sami Hyypia wants to hang around the Merseyside a bit longer:

I can see myself staying around here. I haven’t really thought about it but my family is enjoying their stay in Liverpool. I have very few, if any, reasons to consider going back to Finland.

I think I’d like to stay involved in football somehow. I don’t know if I want to be a manager. I’ve seen a lot of managers in my career and I know that it maybe wouldn’t be good for my health.

I like the idea of Sami coaching, whether in a lead role or not.

Of the current Liverpool players, who is the most likely to be stalking a touchline after their playing days are over?

No doubt, the favorite has to be Gerrard. But, Carra is a varitable encyclopedia of footballing knowledge, although he’s dismissed the idea on numerous occasions. Finnan may have the know-how, but does he have the personality?

But so much of the squad is young, it’s tough to get a bearing on who might have the chops to make the transition.

4 Responses to “Talk is Cheap”


  1. 1 Jen October 5, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    I vote for Xabi. He’s usually the brains of the team on the pitch, which augurs well for a career in management. Plus, I remember reading something in an article about him and Carra sitting around together after a match hashing over the details.

  2. 2 Georger October 5, 2007 at 3:21 pm

    even if carra wanted too, youd have to field a squad of all scousers or noones going to have any fucking clue what hes saying

    i see gerrard being the manager within ten years easily

    pennant will probably be managing a prison team ala vinny jones in mean machine in a few years time

  3. 3 Bob Marley and the Hartford Whalers October 7, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    I am emotionally drained after that. FERNANDO!!!!!!!!!!

  4. 4 highlifer October 7, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    It was sad to leave the match satisfied with a draw, cause at least it wasn’t a loss. The next 2 will be tough, with Besiktas in the middle. Looks like a good time for me to pick up the drinking pace. Sigh.


Leave a Reply

